Introduction

This page explains the steps for migrating (moving) data from your personal My Drive to a shared drive within Google Drive.

Storage Limits

Like individual Google accounts, Shared Drives do not have unlimited storage.

By default, departmental Shared Drives have a 250 GB storage quota. If you need additional storage you can contact the IT Helpdesk and request additional storage or an alternative storage solution.


Uploading Files Shared Drive

You can upload files and folders to a shared drive in the same way that you upload files to your Google My Drive. See instructions at Upload Files and Folders to Google Drive.  


Migrating Data from My Drive to Shared Drive

You can move files and folders from your personal or departmental Google Drive (also known as "My Drive") to a shared drive.

Follow these instructions to migrate data from My Drive to a shared drive:

  1. Log in to your Google Drive, and locate the files or folders you want to move.
  2. Select the file(s) by clicking on a single file/folder or holding the Shift key while clicking all of the files/folders you want to move.
  3. Right-click the mouse, or Ctrl-click if you are using a single-button mouse.
  4. Click Move to....
  5. In the drop-down list, you will see a list of folders on your My Drive. To the left of My Drive, click on the Left arrow icon..
  6. In the drop-down list of available drives, double-click on Shared drives.
  7. By double-clicking, navigate to the drive and folder where you want to move the data.
  8. Click the Move Here button.

    If you encounter issues, please see this page for more information: Troubleshoot Google Shared Drive Error Messages

Note

  • Any files in your My Drive that are owned or created by another user will not be moved.  Those files will be copied, but the original file remains in My Drive.
  • Moving files to a shared drive changes ownership from the individual to the team.
  • File permissions and links do not change.  People who are not shared drives members can still access the file with previously granted permission.

  • No labels