When using Google Shared drives, you can upload files and folders to a Shared drive in the same way that you upload files to your Google My Drive.  See instructions at Upload Files and Folders to Google Drive.  


Migrating Files from My Drive to Shared Drive

You can move files from your personal or departmental Google Drive, also known as "My Drive," to a shared drive.

2SV for Departments

Important: Currently, users cannot move folders from My Drive to a Shared Drive. You can move multiple files at a time, but any folders must be recreated in the Shared Drive.

Follow these instructions to migrate files from My Drive to Shared Drive:

  1. Access your Google Drive and locate the files you want to move.
  2. Select the file or files by clicking on a single file or holding the Shift key while clicking all of the files you want to move.
  3. Right-click the mouse, or Ctrl-click if you are using a single-button mouse.
  4. Click Move to....
  5. In the drop down list, you will see a list of folders on your My Drive. To the left of My Drive, click on the Left arrow icon..
  6. In the drop down list of available drives, double-click on Shared drives.
  7. By double-clicking, navigate to the drive and folder where you want to move the files.
  8. Click the Move Here button.

Note:

  • Any files in your My Drive that are owned or created by another user will not be moved.  Those files will be copied, but the original file remains in My Drive where they are resident.
  • Moving files to the Shared drives changes ownership from the individual to the team.
  • File permissions and links do not change.  People who are not Shared drives members can still access the file with previously granted permission.
  • No labels