Contact IT for Help
|Shared Drives||My Drive|
|Who owns files and folders?||The team/group.||Individual who created the file or folder.|
|Who manages the files and folder?||Everyone with Content Manager or Manager permissions can manage the content of a Shared Drive.||Only the single user who directly logs into the My Drive's account can manage the drive.|
Can I restore files?
Yes, if you have the role of Manager, Content Manager, or Contributor in the shared drive.
Yes, if you created the file.
|Can I move files/folders?|
Can I move data within a shared drive? Yes, if you have the Manager or Content Manager role in the shared drive.
Can I move data from My Drive to a shared drive?
Can I move data from one shared drive to another? Yes, if you have the Manager role in both shared drives.
|Sharing files with others.|
All users added to the shared drive will see the entire contents of the shared drive.
It is possible to share files and folders with additional users who are not in the shared drive using the standard Share feature. These users will not have access to the entire shared drive, but they will find the content shared with them in their Shared With Me section of Google Drive, like normal.
Only you have access to your My Drive. You can share files and folders with users.
Different people might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.
|Receiving files from others.|
Anyone who is a member of a shared drive with the proper permissions can create or move files to the shared drive.
A person cannot share a file with a shared drive using the Share feature. In other words, if someone outside of your department wants to share a file with your shared drive, they will either need to be added as a member of the shared drive, or they will need to share it with someone who is a member, and that person can add it to the shared drive.
Any file shared with the associated My Drive account (e.g. the email address) will appear in the Shared with Me section of My Drive.
|How long do deleted files stay in trash?||Each shared drive has its own trash. Only members with the role of Manager or Content Manager can delete files. After 30 days, all files/folders in the trash are deleted permanently. Members with the role of Manager, Content Manager, or Contributor can restore shared drive content from trash.||Files in the My Drive trash folder are permanently deleted after 30 days.|
|Attaching a Google File to a Google Calendar invite||Navigate to any shared drive file from within a Calendar invite.||Navigate to any My Drive file from within a Calendar invite.|
|Mobile device support||Shared drives are supported on mobile devices.|
My Drive is supported on mobile devices.