Contact IT for Help
You'll see your shared drives in the left sidebar in Google Drive.
Shared drive members have different roles that determine their permission to manage or edit the data in the shared drive. Anyone added to a shared drive as a member will see the shared drive in the left sidebar in Google Drive.
When a shared drive is created, the individual who created the shared drive will be given the Manager role. (See more about permission levels in shared drives in the chart below.) That individual will then have the ability to add other individuals or Google groups as members to the shared drive.
By default, the Content Manager role is given to new members added to a shared drive. We recommend only giving a few people the Manager role since it has the most permissions allowed in shared drives.
|View files and folders||X||X||X||X||X|
|Comment on files||X||X||X||X|
|Make/approve/reject edits in files||X||X||X|
Create/upload files and folders
|Share files with others outside the team||X||X||X|
|Share folders with others outside the team||X|
|Restore files/folders from trash (up to 30 days)||X||X||X|
Move files/folders within a shared drive
Note: Only IT administrators can migrate folders from from My Drive to a shared drive.
|Move files/folders from one shared drive to another||X|
|Rename shared drives||X|
Delete shared drives
Note: All files/folders must first be deleted from the shared drive.
|Modify shared drives settings||X|
|Permanently delete files in the trash||X|
Requests for access to files in shared drives: Requests for access to shared drive files go only to the file creator. If the file creator is no longer a member of a shared drive, the requests will be sent to the shared drive Managers.
Google account needed to become a member of a shared drive: You can share files and folders with visitors without Google accounts with visitor sharing. However, to be a member of a shared drive, the invited user must have an email address associated with a Google account.