Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Introduction

Before July 2022, Biola IT transferred all departing employees' computer data to a designated "FormerEmployeeData" Shared Drive and provided access to the employees' supervisors. IT recommends consolidating this information in a Department Google Shared Drive to prevent data loss and for centralized organization. This page explains how to migrate former employee computer data from a "FormerEmployeeData" Shared Drive to a Department Google Shared Drive.


Instructions on how to migrate a former employee's computer data from a "FormerEmployeeData" Shared Drive to a Department Google Shared Drive

StepWhat to DoWhat It Looks Like
1Launch Google Chrome, navigate to drive.google.com, and make sure you are logged in to your Biola account.
2

Navigate to your department’s Shared Drive > Former Employee Data folder.

Note: If you do not have a department Shared Drive, please complete the Department Google Shared Drive Request Form.

Note: Create the folder "Former Employee Data" if it isn't there. 

3Create a new subfolder with the employee's name (e.g. “Jane Smith - Computer Data”).

4

Navigate to your  Shared Drivesdrives and locate your former employee's computer data. The folder Shared Drive should be named as "FormerEmployeeDataFirstnameLastname".


Note: This is a great opportunity to audit your former employee's computer data. You can ask yourself:

  • Is the data still relevant? Can anything be deleted?
  • Is there any sensitive information that should be removed? Sensitive data should always be deleted when it’s no longer needed. Take particular note of any FERPA data or PII (Personally identifiable information, e.g. lists of students) that may be from previous semesters and no longer necessary.



5

Open your department’s shared drive and your new subfolder in the left sidebar.

6

Drag any folders that you want to migrate to the new subfolder in your department’s shared drive.

Note: If any error messages appear during the transfer process, please view this page:

Troubleshoot Google Shared Drive Error Messages